God Speaks in the Most Unusual Ways…

So, I recently noticed that the thumbnail on my left hand has a small indentation in it. Curious, I thought as I took notice and I ran my finger over it as if to try to understand it. Then there it was, the memory of my thumb being closed in a car door when I was a child. We were just arriving at my grandparents house – excited to be on my way to the county fair with my aunt and my sisters. I am not sure exactly how my thumb was closed in the door – but I will never forget the immediate moments that followed.

Since I found this little scar from my childhood, it seems that I focus on it a lot. I remember the pain that was associated with that injury. I remember how I screamed and cried when the door had to be opened to release my thumb, how the nail turned an array of colours finally turning black and eventually falling off. I remember being amazed that beneath what had become such a grotesque part of me was a brand new nail. At first seemingly perfect with the exception that it was a bit thin and not a lot of protection for a tom-boy such as me… As time progressed, the tom-boy in me was becoming a smaller and smaller part of who I was. I was trying out more ‘girlie’ things and wanted to grow my nails out. Funny, the replacement nail would grow only a little and without fail, it would fracture. I learned to accept that my nails, especially that nail, would never be lovely and feminine. Still, I never noticed the indentation which I am sure now is exactly what causes the fracture to occur in the first place.

As the Lord begins to speak to me about things much deeper than my fingernail, I am as surprised by what I am hearing and finding as I was about the indentation that I somehow missed for over thirty years. The Lord is asking me, “What other damage was there so long ago that you think has healed and maybe, it hasn’t?” “What else has left a mark that inevitably causes things to be fractured?” Most importantly, “Will you let me show you and let me heal those things completely?” Wow.

Why is it that when I trust God with my whole heart, this is a frightening question? I know things that I have hidden away that I don’t want to remember, to me, they are healed. If they aren’t, what will I have to endure to dig them up? I do trust God with my whole heart – with everything that is within me. So truly, why am I afraid? I fear because God never said that life would be painless and I don’t like pain.

However, because I do trust in my Saviour, I know that His plans for me are for good and not for evil. If there are things that He is telling me to deal with, then it is because He loves me and wants me free from even the things that maybe I don’t see with my natural eyes. And more than anything, I want to be the woman that He wants me to be.

Here goes………………..

I would love to hear your thoughts…  Leave me a comment below.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dean Ellis
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 02:07:26

    Thank you Kris.

    Like

    Reply

  2. carol wilson
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 14:50:16

    When the Lord takes you back into your past it is not to cause you pain it is to release you from it. He wants you to know that He was right beside you and He was loving on you and always will be. It takes the pain away and heals the fracture if it is not already healed. His love is an awesome thing and we do not always believe in it at the time. Let your heart learn to trust Him completely. We then become transparent and nothing is hidden any more. We need to be whole (complete in Him). Just continue to let go with Jesus and enjoy the ride!!! The enemy brings fear but there is no fear in the LOVE of God. Keep seeking and searching for the truth cause it sets you free. I know cause I’ve been there.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Cherie
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 10:01:23

    “Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go.”

    You are a mighty warrior of God, Kris – and He will see you through ALL things! Be brave! Be strong! Be bold! And “take” that land – your inheritance!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Older Posts


